Wolf Song of Alaska News

Two Wolf Hunters Face Criminal Charges

Associated Press / Fairbanks Daily News Miner / November 11, 2004

ANCHORAGE--Two men approved to participate in a state-sponsored program to kill wolves near McGrath are facing criminal charges, including shooting the animals from their planes outside the prescribed area.

Court papers show that David Haeg, 38, of Soldotna, and Tony Zellers, 41, of Eagle River, each face five counts of shooting wolves from a plane, two counts of unlawful possession of game, and one count of lying about where they shot the wolves.

Haeg, owner and operator of Trophy Lake Lodge, also is charged with two counts of trapping in closed season and one count of failure to salvage game. Each charge is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail and a $10,000 fine.

Alaska State Troopers said Haeg and Zellers last March applied for and were granted a state permit allowing them to kill wolves in an area near McGrath.

The predator-control program approved by the Alaska Board of Game in 2003 was designed to eliminate wolves in a 3,300-square-mile area surrounding McGrath to help the moose population increase.

But charges say Haeg and Zellers on numerous occasions shot wolves outside the prescribed area. In one case the alleged shooting occurred as far as 80 miles from the nearest border of the legal hunt zone and paperwork was then falsified to conceal the true location. Both men have pleaded not guilty, prosecutor Scot Leaders said Tuesday.

Wildlife enforcement trooper Brett Gibbens pieced together the case.


Back to the Current Events menu


© Wolf Song of Alaska

IRS Classification 501(c)(3)
Federal ID #92-0127397

The Wolf Song of Alaska logo, web site text and photos are copyrighted, registered, and protected, and cannot be used without permission.  Photos are by Monty Sloan, Tom Talasz and Maria Talasz.

Web design and artwork donated by She-Wolf Works and Alaskan artist Maria Talasz

Visitor Number... Site Meter Paw



Editorials / Opinions


Voice Your Opinion

arrow Alaska Governor Frank Murkowski
arrow House of Representatives
arrow Alaska Media
arrow State Senate
arrow Alaska Board of Game