Wolf Song of Alaska News

Palin Names Alaska Game Board Appointees

Tim Mowry / Fairbanks Daily News-Miner / January 31, 2008

Gov. Sarah Palin appointed two new members to the state Board of Game, replacing the only Native representative on the seven-person board.

Lew Bradley of Palmer and Teresa Sager-Albaugh of Tok were named to the board by Palin on Wednesday, which was the deadline for the governor to appoint new members to state boards and commissions.

They replace Ron Somerville of Juneau, who resigned his position earlier this week after six years on the board, and Paul Johnson of Unalakleet, who was not re-appointed to the board after serving an interim two-year term. Johnson had been the lone Native on the board.

It marks the first time since the Game Board was created in 1976 to establish hunting and trapping regulations for Alaska that there has been no Native representation on the board.

Frank Bailey, director of state boards and commissions, said the governor considered several names that were forwarded to her by local advisory committees and appointed the two candidates she felt would best represent Alaskans. There was at least one Native candidate that was heavily considered but Palin could not reach the individual to talk about a possible appointment before she had to submit two names to the Legislature.

The governor also re-appointed Ted Spraker of Kenai to a third term on the board.

Back to the Current Events menu


© Wolf Song of Alaska

Visitor Number... Site Meter Paw



Editorials / Opinions